Saturday, August 30, 2014

Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Timeline

Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Timeline

-Within 180 days prior to filing bankruptcy: Complete a credit counseling course and receive a certificate of completion.

-0 days: File bankruptcy Chapter 7. A typical bankruptcy petition consists of 60-75 pages of information including the Petition, Schedules and Statement of Affairs.

-14 days after you file bankruptcy: All deficiencies in bankruptcy documentation must be filed with the Court, including schedules of assets and liabilities.

-4-6 weeks after you file bankruptcy: You must attend a mandatory meeting with the bankruptcy trustee to confirm the good faith of your filing. Creditors who wish to object to your bankruptcy filing may appear at this meeting, but this is very rare.

-45 days after your meeting: If you filed a Chapter 7, you must complete a financial management course and the certificate must be filed with the Court for you to receive your discharge.

-60-90 days after meeting: If you filed a Chapter 7, your debts will usually be discharged if no objections are made.

Contact @AfterHoursVA for more info on Chapter 7 petition prep at

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Why Use a Bankruptcy Petition Preparer?

Why Use a Bankruptcy Petition Preparer?

The bankruptcy petition preparer can’t tell you anything about the law or the bankruptcy process, so why use one?

If you don’t have access to a computer or laser printer, then you may want to pay someone to prepare the forms for you. A good bankruptcy petition preparer will have up-to-date bankruptcy computer software that will generate the documents quickly and relatively easily. And most bankruptcy petition preparers charge low fees, especially compared to lawyers.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Back To School #RVA

#BackToSchool  Get those docs notarized soon!  School is right around the corner or has already started for central Virginia students.  A school form that may require notarization is the Affirmation Regarding Expulsion and Criminal Offenses form.

1.12 — Affirmation Regarding Expulsion and Criminal Offenses
Code of Virginia §22.1-3.2. Notice of student's school status required as condition of admission.

Prior to admission to any public school of the Commonwealth, a school board shall require the parent, guardian, or other person having control or charge of a child of school age to provide, upon registration, a sworn statement or affirmation indicating:

(i) whether the student has been expelled from school attendance at a private school or in a public school division of the Commonwealth or in another state.

(ii) whether the student has been found guilty of or adjudicated delinquent for any offense listed in subsection G of Va. Code Ann. §16.1-260 or any substantially similar offense under the laws of any state, the District of Columbia, or the United States or its territories.

Contact @AfterHoursVA today:

$5 per notarized signature

*Travel fees apply.  Up to $35 for City of Richmond, Chesterfield and Henrico County.